Done

I haven’t been very busy on my blog this year. Well I haven’t been ‘busy’ at all on it, really. I made several starts when certain things became topical but for one reason or another I didn’t get them finished before the topicality ran out!!

have been a bit more busy with other stuff and completed my ‘Diploma in Jade and Hard Stone Carving’ and in the process have made a few pieces I am a bit pleased with. So- being a bit pleased I thought I’d kill two birds with one carefully directed stone- complete a blog-post and share just some of the pleasing pieces with you!

WP_20141107_010_edited

This is ‘Wairua’, a piece I carved for the Aotearoa Jade Carvers National Exhibition in Hokitika a couple of weeks ago.

 

IMG_7446

I used a combination of design elements based on waves on the sea and ferns in our bush. Interestingly mine was the only one of the 35 pieces in the exhibition that sold!

 

IMG_7215

One of the stones I’ve developed a soft spot for is ‘tangiwai’ a bowenite and close cousin of nephrite.

 

IMG_7216

Tangiwai is classified as one of the ‘pounamu’ stones, along with nephrite jade and serpentine.

 

 

IMG_6984

The translucence and the colours in tangiwai are quite stunning!

 

2013-05-30 15.19.05

It’s fun to grind these discs very thin so that one is able to even get to the extent of seeing right through the stone. The irony is, of course that we then hang it against the body so the colours and patterns aren’t seen!

 

IMG_7460

I have a good friend whose daughter talked her into her first tattoo, so to celebrate this momentous occasion I carved her this copy of the design in South-Westland jade.

 

IMG_7425

This is ‘Takutai’, or Foreshore.

 

IMG_7458

I started the carving course because I had ‘an itch I needed to scratch’, to move from bone to stone. My original bone carving on the left and the jade replica on the right could probably indicate “the itch has been scratched!”

 

IMG_7455

2013-05-30 15.20.15-1

This a simple fold design with a jade bead cord attachment that brings out the internal colours and patterns of this nephrite stone well.

 

2013-05-30 15.20.26

 

WP_20141123_002

I completed these simple serpentine drops yesterday. There seems to be nothing special about these pendants but I am pleased that I have done them. They are destined to be gifted to some of the protesters at Ferguson in the United States. If this is going to help in just a tiny way by letting the people know that others are thinking and supporting their protests, I am happy.

Job done! I am now the holder of a Certificate in Jade and Hard Stone Carving and a Diploma in the same ‘discipline’, and I have completed a blog-post!!!

4 thoughts on “Done

Leave a Reply

