Quite Chuffed

I’m pretty chuffed with progress ‘at school’ today (my jade & hard-stone course) where I had my first day on the second assignment- “produce 4 asymmetrical pieces and choose 2 for assessment”.

I learned a bit of a lesson after kinda over designing some of my ‘free form’ assignment pieces- the KISS principle works well in these early stages while we are getting to know the gear we work with and how to use the different bits and pieces more (most?) efficiently.

I have pretty much finished my first two pieces and have done a good amount of ‘stock removal’ on the other pieces. I’ll get back to the workshop on Wednesday when I am confident I’ll get both of these finished, plait some cord to suspend them from, and get some finer work done on the other pieces.

This piece has some wonderful colours- it is marsden jade and has some exquisite colours.asymmetrical 4 cmprssdThis is from the outer part of a boulder and the bottom part of the pendant is actually more rind than pure jade but I still think it is beautiful to look at. (I have some more of this stone so am now VERY excited about working on a piece that comes from nearer the middle of the rock. There is no ‘front’ or ‘back’ necessarily to the pieceasymmetrical 3  cmprssdalthough I like to think of this as a stylised bird with wings and tail spread (picture the cord through the eyes.)

The other almost finished piece is British Columbian jade from the Polar ‘mine’ in the Cassiar area in northern BC.???????????????????????????????I understand it’s pretty high quality stone and is used for jewelry and museum quality carvings. I’m sure you’ll be as impressed as I am with the colour. My tutor told me the darkening at the top of this pendant is caused by a minute difference in the mineral content in that part of the stone (and he stressed minute– miniscule, tiny, almost nothing!)

So, I’m quite chuffed!

8 thoughts on “Quite Chuffed

  1. Campbell MacGibbon says:

    I quite like that second piece you are showing there, A nice simple shape but the difference in colours within the stone add to the overall aesthetics of the carving. For me personally I can see a fishtail sort of shape from the top and flaring at the bottom caused by the darker parts on the inside of the stone. Very nice

    • Thank you, my son! You can’t see it in that pick but there is a cavity carved into the other side- it is outlined by the darker inverted ‘V’ in the pic. Nice to get through something reasonably quickly- that’s an imperative for Ric, our tutor but of course he’s expecting most of the students to become commercial artists and thus quantity (and output) is important. Not so much for me but I think such pieces as these, being easy to make, could feature a bit when I finally start working for myself! Don’t know whether you saw all the first seven pieces I made but I’ve got a bit of finishing off to do on some of them- just not completely happy with some aspects of finish, so… Thoroughly enjoying the course- first steps at present of course, but we get to do some pretty special projects further down the track. Hmmm.

  2. Trish Masson says:

    It’s looking good Murray. Will follow your progresss with interest. When you are a famous carver I will tell everyone that you and I once shared a phone booth!

  3. Mon Hulme says:

    Hi there from the colder northern hemisphere! I like the BC piece, it looks like the first light….

    I’ll be in touch on my return.
    Mon

Leave a Reply

