Clever Art

Art, of course is in the eye of the beholder, and many eyes will interpret ‘art’ in as many different ways-a matter of “I know nothing about art, but I know what I like” sort of thing. But all, I think, can appreciate ‘clever’.What is shown here possibly falls rather less in the former and much more in the latter- it may not be ‘art’ but it’s bloody clever!That is not to say the people who are responsible for these creations aren’t artists, in fact I would be hard to convince that they are not.I would also argue that their works are art. Each of them is clearly very talented, in full control of their media and accomplished craftsmen in their chosen field.These pictures were created in streets and on buildings by three very clever gentlemen- Kurt Wenner, Julian Beever, and Edgar Muller.The images I’ve chosen only represent a part of what each do but you’ll recognise I’ve picked them because they are all, well, clever.If I were one of the artists or just an artist who did similar street work I think I would be somewhat put off because of the impermanence of the piece. Whether it’s rain, or wind, or traffic the ‘canvas’ will be cleared of the work before it has time, to my mind, to be fully appreciated.There are a number of terms used to describe the processes for these works, trompe l’oeil, a technique that uses artistic precision to play tricks with the viewer- sort of creating optical illusions, 3D and anamorphic art, or that which is 1-point perspective painting- that is it will only make sense from one position because it depends on severe use of perspective to fool the eye/brain.Although this is probably the most spectacular technique it must be a wee bit frustrating that you can really only have an audience of 1!

2 thoughts on “Clever Art

  1. Looks like you have found a few new anamorphic delights. Thanks for sharing! Do you also like mirror anamorphosis – the kind developed in the Renaissance? Check out OOZandOZ.com (my own website!)

Leave a Reply

